Why Vegan? For Yoga, For health, For the planet…

After eating meat for many years, I experienced a life changing awakening that led me to become a vegetarian, after being vegetarian for 4 years I transitioned to a vegan diet and I have never been healthier or happier.

You can read about my spiritual transition that led to a plant based diet here… My spiritual awakening, the yoga retreat that changed my life…

People become vegan for many reasons perhaps watching some of the documentaries such as Earthlings or What the health, in an attempt to heal themselves from various illnesses, through the practice of yoga or other disciplines or perhaps they are avoiding the GMO’s that have been infiltrated in to the feed of all non-organic animals producing meat, milk and eggs in the U.K are some amongst many.

For me it was for several reasons to heal myself, to aid my yoga practice and in an effort to walk more gently on the earth with kindness.

FullSizeRender (9)

For Yoga…

Being a yogi and studying yoga philosophy we learn about a Sattvic diet and Ahimsa one of the Yamas in the Pantanjali’s Yoga sutras. Ahimsa means to do no harm so naturally a vegan diet is the preferred diet amongst Yogis. Eating a vegan diet also keeps the body lean, light and the digestive system working efficiently, whole foods such as fruits, seeds, nuts, vegetables, beans and Legumes are digested easier than animal products. My teacher whilst in India spoke of the denseness of animal protein and about how the digestive system uses more Prana to digest it when Prana would be best focused elsewhere.

On an energetic level eating a plant based diet is calmer for the mind, eating the adrenaline, emotions and hormones of animals can affect our emotional state.

The creator, universe or God however you prefer made each living being and I see all life as equal. I view each animal, person, plant and all life as different expressions of the same consciousness who am I to take a life just because I’m a little bit peckish.

For health…

A plant based diet is the healthiest diet you can eat, Vegan diets are lower in calories, saturated fat and cholesterol than carnivorous diets and higher in fibre, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Vegetarians and vegans have a significantly lower risk of diabetes, stroke, cardiovascular disease and cancer.

You can read about how I healed myself with diet here… HOW I CURED MY ”INCURABLE” ILLNESSES…

For the animals…

I haven’t watched earthlings, I figure following a vegan diet lets me off, I have seen enough though, I’m not going to go in to details the information is available for you if you can bring yourself to watch it, I would challenge my meat eating friends to watch these documentaries as hiding from the truth doesn’t make it go away and many of them are now vegan or well on their way. The horrors of the dairy, egg and meat industry are severely disturbing, I don’t want to be a part of that, I was for many years as I was ignorant, now I know the truth it becomes a matter of choosing not to contribute to suffering.

For the planet…

51% of greenhouse-gas emissions are caused by animal agriculture! Raising animals for food requires massive amounts of land, water, food and energy. We are losing precious rain forest! 90% of all rainforest cleared since 1970 has been to grow soya and now GM soya to feed to the cows to feed to the humans! The pollution caused by agricultural farming is causing severe health problems in people who are forced to live nearby to the land and fishing our oceans is devastating the precious ecosystems and sea life such as dolphins, rays, sharks and birds.

Sound gloomy right but we have a choice we can choose a Plant based diet and clear our Karma.

With the exception of Vitamin B12 there is nothing you cannot get from a plant based diet that you can from a meat based diet. Now we live in a sanitised world we are not naturally exposed to dirt and B12, animals grazing on the land are exposed to the Vitamin and through eating animals we get a second hand dose.

When I ate meat, I was B12 deficient, when I healed myself with a vegan diet and now take a sublingual supplement I have perfect levels along with the best health I have ever had.

I have studied nutrition extensively and get asked questions about becoming vegan here are the top 3!

Where can I get protein from?

Today’s obsession with protein has gotten out of control! Too much protein leads to elevated blood sugar, weight gain, kidney stress, leaching of bone minerals and the stimulation of cancer cells.

The human body needs 0.75 grams of protein for each kilogram that they weigh per day. Vegan protein comes without the saturated fat and hormones that animal products contain. You may notice people drinking lots of weigh protein can have problems with acne and other hormonal imbalances.

Amazing vegan sources of proteins and complete proteins are: Quinoa, Hempseed, Chia, Organic Soy, beans, legumes, Spirulina, Nuts and other seeds.

Will I be healthy?

If you follow a whole food plant based diet you will be very healthy, I have seen people’s health rapidly improve including my own by switching to a plant based diet.

One not about nutrition…

If I become a vegan will I become a dickhead who imposes their views on others?

Ha ha maybe however it’s not mandatory and be warned some people won’t invite you for dinner anymore! Ha Ha. Me being a Gluten free vegan, I often just bring my own dinner!

Everyone is on their own path and I practice daily not to judge, it’s hard when you know our planet is falling apart and a switch to a plant based diet could solve many problems not to slap bacon sandwiches out of people’s hands and watching people you love eat food you know if harming them is also hard. But I try encouraging and not nagging. if people ask me questions I try to answer them with love and understanding.

For me eating a plant based diet aligns with my moral and ethical code I feel free from the burden of what is happening behind the closed doors of factory farming and the effects it has on many people and animals and I hope many more people will consider a plant based future for the sake of their health and the health of the planet for many future generations to come.

There are now three and a half times as many vegans as there were in 2006 in the U.K look out it’s catching.

Living with discipline is a Yogic practice, Yoga is a powerful tool that can take us away from being part of the ‘’fuck it’’ generation, it forces us to self-realise, we begin to identify ourselves as part of a collective consciousness and understand we can make a choice and we can make a change.

Do you follow a vegan or vegetarian diet? Has following a plant based diet improved your health? Are you looking to become vegan or eat less meat?

I would love to hear your story?

By changing our own consciousness we change the consciousness of the collective. By changing ourselves we can change the world.

Namaste

Love Kayleigh

FullSizeRender (7)

 

About the Author

Posted by

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

